Problem with View more/View less Content in a Repeater (Expandable Text Box)

I’m prefacing this post with the fact that I am NOT a coder or developer, but simply followed instructions from Wix as best I could—so please bear with my ignorance.

I’ve added a view more/view less toggle button with static text (not dynamic text) to create an expandable text box in a repeated element, by copying and pasting the code to create an expandable text box per the Wix instructions on this page:
https://support.wix.com/en/article/creating-an-expandable-text-box-with-a-show-more-link-using-wix-code

The view less/view more button and truncation of the text is working fine, but I’m having a major issue with the content (first bulleted item, below), and I also have some other questions:
• When I check the functionality of the button in preview mode, the content-specific text changes within each element to the same text that’s in the first element (so each element contains the same text when truncated). I’m sure the problem is with the code, but don’t know how to fix it. The code is below, between the horizontal lines. I’ve also attached a screen shot of the code, as well as screen shots of the page in the editor view, with the full, expanded text, and the preview, with the truncated text.

let fullText; // variable to hold the full text
let shortText; // variable to hold the short version of the text

// For full API documentation, including code examples, visit Velo API Reference - Wix.com

$w.onReady( function () {
// how many characters to include in the shortened version
const shortTextLength = 236;
// read the full text and store it in the fullText variable
fullText = $w(“#text4”).text;
// grab the number of characters defined in shortTextLength and store them in the shortText variable
shortText = fullText.substr(0, shortTextLength) + “…”;
// set the contents of the text element to be the short text
$w(“#text4”).text = shortText;
//TODO: write your page related code here…

});