Required fields before submission

Hi,
I’m not a code expert, but I managed to create a custom registration form, and it works perfectly.
The problem is that Wix is not preventing users to submit the form with the “required” fields like First Name and Last Name being blank.

So I would get a new member notification with no names provided :frowning:

Can someone help me restrict Wix from accepting a member without filling the required fields?

Here’s the code I’m using. I dunno where and what to write in order to achieve this.
I tried the OnBeforeSave function from this article , but, being the beginner I am, I can’t get it to work.

Here’s the code that I used for the custom registration:

import wixUsers from ‘wix-users’;
import wixLocation from ‘wix-location’;
$w.onReady( function () {

console.log('Hello'); 

$w('#submit').onClick( function  () { 

let email = $w(‘#email’).value;
let password = $w(‘#password’).value;
console.log(email + ’ ’ + password);
wixUsers.register(email, password)

});
});

And here’s the form URL: https://www.arapd.org/register-member

Somebody help please :frowning:

First of all, you can set NY field to be "required’ via the editor, and no code is needed.
Second, if you choose to make it by code, you can do a validation by yourself:

$w("#firstNameInput, #lastNameInput").onBlur(( event) => { 
if($w("#firstNameInput").value.length  > 0 && $w("#lastNameInput").value.length  > 0) {
  $w("#submitButton").enable();
} else {
 $w("#submitButton").disable() 
}
}); 

Thanks J.D. in fact I have those fields as “required” in the settings. Even though, the user can still press Submit without filling them, and I would get get a member notification without those fields filled.

@aghassan it’s not supposed to behave like that. Are you sure you remembered to connect the input fields to the database fields ?

Yes all of them are connected to database

So, I don’t know what to say. Maybe you should talk to the support.