Web speech API is not referenced

Hi, I am completely new to WIX and JS. Please forgive my ignorance and help me start.

I created the front end of a website without much trouble via WIX IDE. However, when I started to code I encountered the common problem: how to reference an external API and use it.

The task I am trying to do it to make text to speech programmatically. I searched the JS code example and copied them to my project. Here is the code from my Home Page Code.

$w.onReady( function () {
//TODO: write your page related code here…
});

export function buttonDemo_click(event) {
//Add your code for this event here:
var msg = new SpeechSynthesisUtterance();
var voices = window.speechSynthesis.getVoices();
msg.text = “Hello world” ;
msg.lang = ’ en-US ’ ;
speechSynthesis.speak(msg);
}

The moment I added the body of the function to the code, Corvid told me that " SpeechSynthesisUtterance is not defined", “window is not defined” and “speechSynthesis is not defined”. I know this is a reference problem and I should import or declare the related Web speech API objects somewhere first. However, I do not know how JS does it. Can someone kindly help me? I will greatly appreciate it.

Corvid understands all of Javascript, except for anything that accesses the DOM. Accessing document elements such as div, span, button, etc is off-limits. The way to access elements on the page is only through $w.

You can add HTML into your site, however it has to be either through an HtmlComponent (iframe) on your page, a CustomElement or through the use of a new tool in tracking and analytics.

Thank you very much for trying to help me.

I am not adding any non-wix element into my website. Using a regular WIX button with ID of buttonDemo click event, I am trying to do a simple text to speech program.