Wix Chat: Accessing Messages

Question:
How to access the message sent on chat on js?

Product:
Wix Editor

What are you trying to achieve:
Well, I am a beginner in all this. I was expecting that I won’t need to code anything for my website but unfortunately, Wix hasn’t provided enough functionality.
I need to access (and detect) the messages that are being sent to visitor and sent by visitor. This will be used as custom analytics and also I’m trying to generate custom notifications (that I can show/hide based on messages.)
I am familiar with coding but not with web dev.

What have you already tried:
I have different tried sample codes I found but they aren’t working. Well the functions must be working but I am not sure how to use them properly.

If anyone can share a snippet, where they can access or detect chat messages, that would be really helpful. Please let me know if I am missing anything. Thank you.

Hey there,

If you’re familiar with coding, this shouldn’t be too difficult for you (:

Turn on Dev Mode in your website. Then from the Code Panel on the left, under Public and Backend, click on Handle Backend Events.

This should add a new file to your code panel called events.js

Click on the Wix Chat icon, and from the properties section in the code panel, add the export function named wixChat_onMessage. This will add a bit of default code in the file.

Replace the code with the one below:

export function wixChat_onMessage(event) {

const message = event.payload.text;
  const participant = event.participantId;

if (message== "Hi") {
  //execute your function here
  } else  if (message== "ABCD") {
  //execute your function here
  }

}

In this way, you can trigger various events based on the message received.

1 Like

Hi and THANKS A LOT this is working finally!!