Just launched my first Wix site: My review of the experience

I just launched my first-ever Wix website yesterday for a hobby project I put together over the holiday break. It’s a niche site for movie fans and specifically movie poster fans called Movie Posters Perfected.

I wanted to share some Feedback in the form of a “review” of my experience with the Wix platform.

Some background: before I decided to make a website, this started as personal project just for myself. But after spending hundreds of hours working on the source material, I realized I could share what I learned and put together with other movie fans, so I decided to create a website to support it.

I’m primarily a designer and cannot write a stitch of code to save my life. The only website I’ve ever had were portfolio sites built with platforms that allowed me to avoid coding, like Adobe Flash (back in the day). I tried WordPress for a couple of years too, but got tired of dealing with expiring plugins and needing frequent help to generate custom code to get the site to look exactly how I wanted.

I tried learning Webflow in 2023, but it was too complex for me and I eventually gave up on it, though I loved the style of their Webflow University tutorials.

After some research and considering other platforms like Squarespace, I decided to give Wix a try, and started poking around with the Editor. I was actually surprised how “advanced” it felt compared to platforms like Adobe Portfolio.

The dream of visual designers has always been a true WYSIWYG website builder with no coding required (remember Dreamweaver?), and to me the Wix Editor was closer to achieving that than anything else I’d tried before. So I built about half of my website before even learning that Wix had other editors available that were presumably better: Editor X and Wix Studio.